Lené Gary

Paul Strobl’s Manifesto

In Open Road Manifestos on 05/17/2011 at 15:14

I’ve been buried alive several times. What I didn’t realize is that it was always me holding the shovel.

I wanted to help others, but I let societal constructs and family pressure bury me.  Everytime I began to see a glimpse of sunlight, I told myself to find a real job.

So there I was:  your typical obese, suit-wearing, stressed-out American stuffed into an office chair in a grey cubicle with a fancy degree.  I was gulping down my second cup of coffee when my father called. He had found my brother in his bath tub with a shotgun and a bloody note in his hand that read ‘Do Not Resuscitate.  Sorry about the mess.’

Everything suddenly looked different.  My career, my family and my life no longer had the same meaning.  They were imposters.  I was a fake.  It took me years to untangle the emotional knots.

Once all of the shoulds were gone, it was obvious what I must do.  I was made for it.  I climbed out of the hole, put down my shovel, dusted myself off and committed my life to helping others find their path.

For me, life itself is creating awareness or a new reality in others simply by asking the right question.

I am a catalyst.  I help people to ‘get it.’ The only problem I have to solve, the only anxiety that I feel every morning asks ‘How can I do more?’

Paul Strobl

  1. […] that I somehow forgot what made me happy.My wake-up call came in the form of a family tragedy:  my brother’s suicide in 2005.Obviously, this was the single worst thing that has ever happened in my life.  However, it […]

  2. […] it out there in the world, or write it just for yourself.  Just write your truth.You can find my manifesto here.Not sure how/where to start?  Here are some tips.Do you love this blog?  You can donate here or […]

  3. […] want to talk about a subject that is taboo in most societies.  It’s something that has had a huge impact on my life and affects millions of people who are affected by this subject that no one wants to talk about. […]

  4. You are incredibly inspiring. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

